[VISIT]

REGULAR HOURS
MON, TUES, THURS: 9am to 8pm
WED, FRI, SAT: 9am to 5pm
SUN: closed
SUMMER HOURS
TUES, THURS: 9am to 8pm
MON, WED, FRI: 9am to 5pm
SAT: 9am to 1pm
SUN: closed
link to MAP

[SEARCH]

Patterson Library Catalog
New Books
Online Databases

[PARTICIPATE]

Programs & Events

[EMAIL]

Library Director

Patterson Library

Online Databases

ProQuest | Gale | EBSCO | RefUSA | CredoReference | Foundation Directory | OverDrive Audio Books | EBSCO & Gale Databases by Subject

 

Proquest logo

ProQuest

• Remote Access: Login with 13-digit library card number
• The ProQuest® online information service provides access to thousands of current periodicals and newspapers, many updated daily and containing full-text articles from 1986.

 

GALE logo

Gale

• Remote Access: Password available at library or via NOVELny using your Drivers License
• See Below for Gale and EBSCO databases by subject

The Gale databases consist of:

Health Reference Center 1980-
Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Business & Company Resource Center
Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.

Infotrac Junior
Formerly SuperTOM Junior, this periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

The Twayne Authors Series - Twayne World, English, and US Authors
Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text titles.

Informe 1994-
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

Custom Newspapers
Search a collection of 150 newspapers, both national and international.

New York State Newspapers
Search this database of ten major newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post.

National Newspaper Index 1977-
National Newspaper Index provides quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module 1980 -
Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

 

EBSCO logo

EBSCO

• Remote Access: Password available at library or via NOVELny using your Drivers License
• See Below for Gale and EBSCO databases by subject

The EBSCO Databases consist of:

MasterFILE Select
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 750 general reference publications with coverage dating as far back as 1984. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Select also includes 37 full text reference books and an Image Collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Primary Search
Primary Search provides full text for more than 60 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

EBSCO Animals
Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

General Science Collection
This database offers full text coverage for more than 60 of the most popular science publications. Providing information on all aspects of the scientific world, the General Science Collection offers full text information dating back as far as 1992.

TOPICSearch
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 64,000 articles from more than 3,000 diverse sources, including more than 1,500 full text periodicals.

Primary Search via Searchasaurus
Searchasaurus is EBSCO's newest resource for elementary- to middle school-age users. Complete with erupting volcanoes, dinosaur guide and compass, it includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, books, and more.

EBSCOhost Espanol—Spanish Interface
Para buscar en una sola base de datos, oprima en el nombre de la base de datos listado a continuación de las mismas. Para seleccionar más de una base de datos en que buscar, ponga un visto en las casillas junto a las bases de datos y oprima en el botón RETORNO.

EBSCOhost Text Only Version

ReferenceUSA logo

ReferenceUSA

Contains detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses, 210 million U.S. residents, 855,000 U.S. health care providers, 1.5 million Canadian businesses, and 12 million Canadian households.

 

CREDOreference

CREDOreference

• Remote Access via 13-digit library card number (barcode number starting 11896...)

• Features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects.

 

Foundation Directory Online

Foundation Directory Online

• Fully-searchable databases that include profiles of all active U.S. foundations as well as an extensive file of recent grants awarded by the nation's top funders.

• This database only available within the library; there is no remote access to the Foundation Directory Online

 

Audio Books logo

OverDrive Audio Books

• Remote Access via 13-digit library card number (barcode number starting 11896...) and 4-digit PIN; ask at Circulation Desk if you do not have a PIN

• 577 audio book titles currently available

• Currenlty will not work with iPods, but iPod compatible books will soon be coming available

• Requires that the Overdrive software be loaded onto a computer to allow downloading

• Once downloaded a book can be transferred to an mp3 player, burned to a CD, or played on a computer

 

Separate URLs for Gale and EBSCO Databases
available through the NOVELNY Program
 

Gale-Cengage: (nine databases) 

1.  Business & Company Resource Center
     Business and Company ASAP

You may load the periodicals portion of Business & Company Resource Center database as a separate database Business and Company ASAP

2.  Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

 

The direct access URLs to the individual e-Books, are as follows:

ARTS

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers

BUSINESS

Business Plans Handbooks [Volumes 1 – 10] 
Use the following Volume numbers to replace Volume number in below URL for desired Volume

http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&doc
Num=CX3439799999&q=nysl_we_patterlbv

Volume 2 has the number CX3439899999
Volume 3 has the number CX3439999999
Volume 4 has the number CX3440099999
Volume 5 has the number CX3418099999
Volume 6 has the number CX3418199999
Volume 7 has the number CX3418299999
Volume 8 has the number CX3418399999
Volume 9 has the number CX3418499999
Volume 10 has the number CX3434299999

Gale Encyclopedia of e-Commerce
Encyclopedia of Small Businesses 2nd. Ed.

HISTORY

American Civil War Reference Library
American Revolution Reference Library
Americans at War
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
Fashion, Costume and Culture
French and Indian War
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History
Harlem Renaissance
History Behind the Headlines:  The Origins of Conflict Worldwide
Mexican American War
Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
War of 1812 

LAW

Major Acts of Congress

LITERATURE

Contemporary Novelists, 7th ed., 2001
Contemporary Poets

MEDICINE

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health

MULTICULTURAL STUDIES

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America

SCIENCE

Biology

SOCIAL SCIENCE

Encyclopedia of Population

3. Health and Wellness Resource Center w/ Alt Health

NOTE: It is possible to load the periodicals portion of the Health and Wellness Resource Center database as a separate database named Health Reference Center Academic. Gale-Cengage has supplied NOVEL users with a separate URL so that this portion – this subset – of one database can be treated as a separate database: Health Reference Center Academic

4. InfoTrac Nursing and Allied Health Collection
5. Informe!
6. InfoTrac Custom Newspapers

NOTE:  New York State Newspapers (subset of InfoTrac Custom Newspapers):

7. InfoTrac Junior
8. National Newspaper Index
9. Twayne's Author Series

 

EBSCO: (five databases)

10. MasterFile Select
Searchasaurus Interface (Primary Search)

11. Primary Search (without the Searchasaurus or KidsSearch interface)
12. Topic Search

EBSCO Animals

13. General Science Collection

Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia
Kids’ Search Interface (Primary Search and TopicSearch)

14. Science Reference Center